‘E hia’ – How many? (You can never use this sentance for people)

E Hia ngā āporo? – How many apples? (When replying, replace ‘Hia’…)
(E.g) E Whitu ngā āporo. – Seven apples.

E hia ngā tepu? – How many tables?
(E.g)  Tekau mā tahi ngā tepu. (If the number is 10 and more we drop the ‘E’)

E hia nga papamā? – How many whiteboards?
(E.g) Kotahi the papamā. – 1 Table. (If there is only one, replace ‘E hia’  with ‘Kotahi te’…)

Tokohia – How many people? (You can never use the sentance for objects)

Tokohia ngā tamariki? – How many children?
(E.g) Rua tekau ma īwa ngā tamariki. – 29 children.

Tokohia ngā kaiako? – How many teachers?
(E.g) Tokorua ngā kaiako. – 2 teachers.

Aue – Me | Tenei – This by me | (Take the ‘T’ of the Tenei for it to become enei) Enei – These by me
Koe – You | Tena – That by you | (Take the ‘T’ off the Tena for it to become ena) Ena – Those by you
Ia – He / She | Tera – That over there | (Take the ‘T’ off the Tera for it to become era) Era – Those over there

What Am I learning? | How does this work show my learning? | What Am I wondering?

We are learning to:

  • pronounce Te Reo Māori Sounds.
  • Count

This shows my learning:

Because I can say how many in Māori and answer in Māori

What am I wondering:

I am wondering if we can learn how to say I don’t know in Māori

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *